Date: 10th July 2007
Source: Photograph by volunteer
The date stone, carved with the date 1857, can be seen clearly set into the pedestal facing us in this photograph. It was removed and lost in the 1960s/70s and restored in …….using the evidence seen in PGPT137, 139. (The date of the restoration is also inscribed on the stone).
The fountain (Guide book ….) was built by Henry Trevor in the year after he finished his house. It must have provided immediately a view point of interest in the quarry where he was planning his garden. It is a unique feature: a tribute to the popularity of the Gothic style in the mid 19c – the Houses of Parliament were under construction during 1857. The materials used include flints, probably from the site itself, which form the buttresses that give the impression of a grotto. There are also a large number of Gunton Bros white bricks, moulded into classical and Gothic patterns, which have weathered to look like stone. The ‘windows’ with the cusps in their tops, match drawings in the Gunton catalogue.
Thus this structure combines the attractions of a ruin, a fountain, a grotto, a fish pond and a lily pond.